Press Release

Date: 31.07.2020

The Election schedule for conducting elections of two Members each to the Tamil Nadu Waqf Board from the electoral colleges consisting of Muslim Member of Parliament, State Legislature, Muslim Ex-Members of Bar Council and Mutawallis has been notified. As per the election schedule, the final list of contesting candidates was published on 30.07.2020. The following candidates submitted their nominations in the respective categories,

MUSLIM MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT

- 1. Thiru K. Navaskani
- 2. Thiru A. Mohammedjan

MUSLIM MEMBERS STATE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

- 1. Thiru K.A.M. Muhammed Abubacker
- 2. Thiru K.S. Masthan

MUSLIM EX-MUSLIM MEMBERS OF BAR COUNCIL

- 1. Thiru M.K. Khan
- 2. Thiru M. Syed Ismail

Only two candidates were contesting in the elections for two seats under the categories of Muslim Members of Parliament, State Legislature and Muslim Ex-Members of Bar Council. These candidates in the above categories were declared as duly elected as per rule 9(6) of the Tamil Nadu Waqf Board (Conduct of Election for Members) Rules, 1997.

The following six candidates are now contesting the election for the two post of members in the category of Mutawallis:-

- 1. Thiru P.M.S. Abdul Gaffoor
- 2. Thiru A. Abdul Rahman
- 3. Thiru G. Gulab Basha
- 4. Thiru C.Y. Javid Ahamed
- 5. Thiru. Mohamed Basheer
- 6. Thiru. Muhammud Mujeebur Rahman

Election for the category of Mutawallis is to be held on 19.08.2020 and polling booth will be established at Tamil Nadu Waqf Board, No.1, Jaffer Syrang Street, Vallal Seethakathi Nagar, Chennai -1 for electors to cast their votes.

Necessary arrangements have also been made to cast votes through Postal Ballot. Due to Covid-19, Corona virus pandemic and lockdown period, Mutawallis are encouraged to utilize the facility of postal vote to exercise their franchise.

Election Authority and Principal Secretary to Government Backward Classes, Most Backward Classes and Minorities Welfare Department

Issued By :- DIPR, Secretariat, Chennai - 9.