P.R.No:803 Date: 29.04.2023

PRESS RELEASE

The State Human Rights Commission Tamil Nadu in collaboration with the Tamil Nadu Domestic Workers Welfare Trust conducted a one day meeting on 29th April 2023 in the Auditorium of the State Human Rights Commission Tamil Nadu regarding 'Multi Stakeholders Consultation on Strengthening Mechanisms for Safe Migration' in the presence of Hon'ble Thiru.Justice S.Baskaran, Chairperson, SHRCTN.

In the inaugural ceremony Secretary, SHRCTN Dr.Vijayakarthikeyan, I.A.S., delivered the welcome address, Tamil Nadu Domestic Workers Welfare Trust Chief Functionary, Sr.Valarmathi, delivered the objectives of the Program. Chairperson, SHRCTN Hon'ble Thiru. Justice S.Baskaran, delivered Introductory Address. Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha Ms.Kanimozhi Karunanidhi delivered Inaugural Address and Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha Dr.Kalanidhi Veerasamy, delivered Key Note Address. Member, SHRCTN Hon'ble Thiru.Justice Raja Elango, and Member, SHRCTN Hon'ble Thiru.V.Kannadasan, delivered their special address.

The program was followed by Panel Discussion consisting two sessions. In the first session LISTAR, Loyala College Dr.Bernard D.Sami, were the Chairperson and Moderator respectively. Government of India, Ministry of External Affairs, Head of Branch Secretariat & Protector of Emigrants Dr.M.Venkatachalam, I.F.S., Consulate General of Malaysia (Chennai) Labour Attache, Dr.Balasubramanian A.Tarumaraja, and FEFSI President & Film Directors Association President, Mr.R.K.Selvamani, have participated in the Panel discussion on the issues of migrant workers.

In the Second Session of the Panel Discussion, Andhra Pradesh State Human Rights Commission Chairperson Hon'ble Thiru. Justice Mandhata Seetharama Murti, Kerala Human Rights Commission Member Hon'ble Sri.K.Byjunath, and Public Department Special Secretary Ms.V.Kalaiarasi, I.A.S., discussed about the Role of the State Government in promoting safe migration –Models of their respective State. Chairperson, Tamil Nadu Construction Workers Welfare Board Mr.Ponkumar, NGO of Tamil Nadu Alliance Founding Member Dr.P.Balamurugan, were the Chairperson and Moderator respectively.

Special Address was given by Chairperson SHRCTN, Hon'ble Thiru Justice S.Baskaran, Member SHRCTN Hon'ble Thiru.Justice Raja Elango, Hon'ble Member, SHRCTN Thiru.V.Kannadasan and DGP/ Greater Chennai Commissioner of Police, Thiru Shankar Jiwal, I.P.S.,

Issued By: - DIPR, Secretariat, Chennai – 9

For Latest Government News, Follow Us On:





ndipr



tndipr



TN DIPR

