Press Release

According to the data tabulated in the reception centres after the close of the poll on 19th December 2009 for the bye-elections in Tiruchendur and Vandavasi Assembly Constituencies, 17 electors in Tiruchendur Assembly Constituency exercised their option under Rule 49 O of the Conduct of Elections Rules 1961 i.e., entry was made in polling stations of their refusal to vote. For Vandavasi Assembly Constituency, the number was 21.

In Tiruchendur Assembly Constituency in two polling stations the percentage of vote above 90, ie., 92.93 in polling station No. 14 and 90.97 in polling station No.18W. In 24 polling stations, the percentage of vote was more than 85 (but less than 90). The polling stations in Kayalpattinam recorded low polling as a number of Muslim electors had gone on Haj pilgrimage. The minimum poll percentage was 46.66 [in polling station No. 61 (in Kayalpattinam)].

In Vandavasi Assembly Constituency, in 10 polling stations, percentage of poll was more than 90. The minimum poll percentage in Vandavasi AC was 72.14 (in polling station 100W).

வெளிய**்டு, இயக்குநர்.** செய்தி, மக்கள் தொடர்புத் துறை, கலைமைச் செயலகம், சென்னை-9 Chief Electoral Officer, 22/12/45