Press Release

The counting of votes for the bye-elections to Tiruchendur and Vandavasi Assembly Constituencies will be taken up on 23rd December from 8.00 A.M., with the counting of Postal Ballot Papers first and 15 minutes thereafter the EVM counting. The counting centre for Tiruchendur Assembly Constituency is the Tiruchendur Adithanar College and for Vandavasi Assembly Constituency it is the Government Arts College, Cheyyar.

According to the Election Commission's instructions there will be a three tier cordoning system in the counting centre to prevent the entry of unauthorized persons inside the counting centres. There will be a 'Pedestrian only Zone' around the Counting Centre. No vehicle should be taken inside the Zone. Proper frisking should be done by the security personnel at the entry point into 'Pedestrian Zone' before allowing the entry of the candidates and their agents and officials on election duty.

A Media centre will be set up at each counting centre. Limited coverage of short duration by manageable Media groups in the counting hall will be arranged.

Mobile Phones will not be permitted inside the Counting Hall. The results of round-wise counting of votes will be written prominently on a black board of size 6' x 9' and announced through public address system after approval by the Observer on the data of each round. The next round of counting will be taken up only after display of results of the previous round on the black board.

In view of the utility of Live-Recording established for monitoring of poll in the polling stations, arrangements have been made for live-recording of the counting process in the counting centres for the two bye-elections and for viewing it online in the Video Conference Hall of the NIC in the Secretariat.

One member of Central Government staff will be appointed as Micro Observer for each Counting Table and will report directly to the Election Commission's Observer. After each round, the Observer will select randomly two EVMs for checking of counting data.

வெளியீடு, இயக்குநர் செய்தி, மக்கள் தொடர்புத் துறை கலைமைச் செயலகம். சென்னை -9

Nach CIU 22/12/18