P.R. No. 212 Date:21.03.2012

## Public (Elections-III) Department

## PRESS RELEASE

The counting of votes for the Bye-election to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from 219.Sankarankovil (SC) Assembly Constituency was taken up today at Sri Veerasamy Chettiyar College of Engineering and Technology, S.V.Nagar, Puliyangudi. After the counting of votes, the Returning Officer for 219.Sankarankovil (SC) Assembly Constituency has declared that Tmt. S. Muthuselvi (AIADMK) was elected. The votes secured by the candidates as follows:-

Total votes polled : 1,59,772

Tmt. S. Muthuselvi (AIADMK) : 94,977

Thiru. Vakkil J. Jawahar

Suryakumar (DMK) : 26,220

D. RAAJENDIRAN SPECIAL CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER & CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER (i/c)

Issued By:-

DIPR, Secretariat, Chennai - 9.