PRESS RELEASE

The Election Commission of India has announced the schedule for the bye-elections to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from 51.Vandavasi (SC) Assembly Constituency in Tiruvannamalai District and 225.Tiruchendur Assembly Constituency in Thoothukudi District. According to the announcement, the filing of nominations will commence from 25th November, 2009. The last date for making nominations is 2nd December, 2009. The scrutiny of nominations will be taken up on 3rd December, 2009. The withdrawal of candidates can be made upto 5th December, 2009. The poll will be on 19th December, 2009.

- 2. The Model Code of Conduct has come into force immediately in the entire district of Tiruvannamalai and Thoothukudi with the announcement of the bye-elections by the Election Commission.
- 3. For 51.Vandavasi (SC) Assembly Constituency, the Special District Revenue Officer (Land Acquisition), SIPCOT (Extension), Cheyyar has been notified as the Returning Officer by the Election Commission of India. For 225.Tiruchendur Assembly Constituency, the District Revenue Officer, Thoothukudi has been notified as the Returning Officer.
- 4. The Commission has directed that with the announcement of the bye-elections, the Ministers and other authorities shall not –
- (a) announce any financial grants in any form or make promises thereof; or
- (b) (Except civil servants) lay foundation stones, etc. of projects or schemes of any kind; or
- (c) make any promise of construction of roads, provision of drinking water facilities, etc.; or
- (d) make any adhoc appointments in Government, Public Undertakings, etc. which may have the effect of influencing the voters in favour of the party in power.

CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER, TAMIL NADU.
