Press Release

The Election Commission of India has constituted a small Sub-Group of Chief Electoral Officers to deliberate on various electoral issues and to submit a report to the Commission. The Sub-Group comprises the following Chief Electoral Officers:

- 1) Shri Debashish Sen, CEO, West Bengal
- 2) Smt. Nalini Netto, CEO, Kerala
- 3) Shri U.P.S. Madan, CEO, Maharashtra
- 4) Shri Ravi Shankar, CEO, Uttranchal
- 5) Shri Naresh Gupta, CEO, Tamil Nadu

The first Sub-Group meeting was held at New Delhi in the Election Commission of India on 1.9.2006. The 2nd meeting was held at Chennai on September 20, The 2006. Deputy Election Commissioner Shri R. Balakrishnan was also present. The Sub-Group deliberated on issues pertaining to updation of electoral rolls, methodology and schedule for introduction of electoral Photo Rolls in all the constituencies, maximization of coverage of Electoral Photo Identity Cards (EPICs) etc. The Sub-Group will be finalizing and submitting its report shortly to the Election Commission of India.

> Chief Electoral Officer, Tamil Nadu

Issued by:- Director of Information and Public Relations, Chennai