## PRESS RELEASE

The Election Commission has announced Bye-Election to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from 11.Dr.Radhakrishnan Nagar Assembly Constituency and the polling is to be held on 27<sup>th</sup> June 2015. In the above Assembly Constituency, there are totally 230 Polling Stations in 49 locations. Out of them, 22 polling stations in 15 locations were identified as Vulnerable on various counts.

To prevent Vulnerable voters from being intimidated or wrongfully influenced before and during the poll, the following measures are being taken for free and fair election and to increase the voter turnout.

- > Police patrolling being done in these areas.
- Extra SVEEP activities for awareness creation would be under taken.
- Through sector Beat Officers, confidences ensured among voters to exercise their voting rights freely.
- Zonal Parties are also frequently visiting these areas and interacting with Public.
- > A Picket will be posted on poll day.
- > Micro observers would be closely watching the poll process.
- > All antisocial elements are being covered under preventive sections of Cr.PC such as bond for good behavior.
- Out of 10 Companies, 5 Companies of CAPFs (BSF 4 & CRPF 1) have been deployed with effect from 18.6.2015 for bye-election related duties and remaining 5 Companies of CAPFs shall be deployed with effect from 23.6.2015 for conduct of free and fair election.
- Speed of voting on the poll day will be closely monitored in these booths.

## Chief Electoral Officer, Tamil Nadu

## Issued By: DIPR, Secretariat, Chennai 9