P.R. No. 422 Date:18.07.2012

## **Press Release**

The election to the office of the President of India is by the system of proportional representation by means of single transferable vote. The voters will have as many preferences as there are contesting candidates.

In as much as there are only two candidates for Presidential Election to be conducted on 19th July, 2012, the voters should put their preference(s) opposite the name(s) of the candidates by marking figure "1" or/and "2" against the name(s) of the candidate(s) (the preference should not be indicated in words). The second preference is optional i.e., the voters may or may not indicate the second preference. This should be marked on the ballot paper only with the ball point pen in blue ink officially supplied for the purpose. The elector should not write his name or any word or put signature or initial on the ballot paper, or otherwise, the ballot paper will become invalid.

The Election Commission of India has specified the "Committee Room, Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly Secretariat, Chennai" as the place of polling. The vote should be marked on the ballot paper inside the voting compartment and its secrecy maintained. Any violation of secrecy may render the ballot paper invalid. The voting compartment would be of Card Board of size of 21" x 21" to be positioned at a considerable distance from the persons sitting in the polling stations and the positioning of the compartment would be such that the actual act of marking of the ballot paper by the elector is not seen by any representative or any other person.

Videography would be done by the Assistant Returning Officer of all

critical events including the poll process. No Cellular phone or cordless phone

or wireless set would be allowed to be carried inside the polling station.

The coverage by the Media will be regulated by the general instructions of

the Election Commission according to which the Media will be allowed in small

batches inside the premises of the polling station building before the start of the

poll on the basis of authority letters issued by the Commission. No photography

or videography will be allowed inside the polling station where the process of

voting takes place.

In addition to the MLAs 10 Members of Lok Sabha and 5 Members of

Rajya Sabha would also cast votes in Chennai.

The Observer of the Election Commission, Mr. Sujit Gulati, I.A.S., will be

arriving in Chennai on 18th of July, 2012.

CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER
TAMIL NADU

Issued By:-

DIPR, Secretariat, Chennai - 9.