PRESS RELEASE

The Election Commission of India has announced the poll programme for holding the Bye Election to the Council of States from Tamil Nadu to fill up the vacancy due to Demise of Thiru. A. Mohammedjan on 23.03.2021 as follows:-

1)	Issue of Notification	:	24.08.2021 (Tuesday)
2)	Last date of making nominations	:	31.08.2021 (Tuesday)
3)	Scrutiny of nominations	:	01.09.2021 (Wednesday)
4)	Last date for withdrawal of candidatures	:	03.09.2021 (Friday)
5)	Date of Poll	:	13.09.2021 (Monday)
6)	Hours of Poll	:	9.00 A.M to 4.00 P.M.
7)	Counting of Votes	:	13.09.2021 (Monday) at 5.00 P.M.
8)	Date before which election shall be completed	:	15.09.2021 (Wednesday)

2. The Election Commission of India has notified the Secretary, Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly Secretariat, Chennai-9 and the Additional Secretary, Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly Secretariat, Chennai-9 as the Returning Officer and the Assistant Returning Officer respectively for the above Bye Election to the Council of States from Tamil Nadu. Nomination papers along with other documents can be filed before the Returning Officer or the Assistant Returning Officer in their offices at Secretariat, Chennai-9 between 11 a.m. and 3 p.m. from 24.08.2021 to 31.08.2021, except on 28.08.2021 (Saturday), 29.08.2021 (Sunday) and 30.08.2021 (Krishna Jayanthi) which is declared as a public holiday under the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881. The poll, if necessary, will be held on 13.09.2021 at the "LEGISLATURE COMMITTEE ROOM" in the Main Building, Ground Floor, Secretariat, Chennai-9.

> CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER. TAMIL NADU.

Issued By: - DIPR, Secretariat, Chennai - 9.