PRESS RELEASE

Date:16.11.2016

For the ensuing General Elections to TNLA from 134-Aravakurichi & 174-Thanjavur Assembly Constituencies and Bye-election to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from 195-Thiruparankundram Assembly Constituency to be held on 19.11.2016, the Election Commission of India has directed that all electors, who have been issued EPIC have to produce the Elector's Photo Identity Card for their identification at the polling station before casting their votes. Those electors who are not able to produce the EPIC shall produce one of the following alternative photo identity documents for establishing their identity:-

- (i) Passport
- (ii) Driving License
- (iii) Service Identity Cards with photograph issued to employees by Central/State Govt. PSUs/Public Limited Companies
 - (iv) Passbooks with photograph issued by Bank/Post Office
 - (v) PAN Card
 - vi) Smart Card issued by RGI under NPR
 - (vii) MNREGA Job Card
- (viii) Health Insurance Smart Card issued under the scheme of Ministry of Labour
 - (ix) Pension document with photograph
- (x) Authenticated Photo Voter Slip issued by the election machinery;

(xi) Official identity cards to MPs/MLAs/MLCs

The Commission has also directed that Authenticated Photo Voter Slips shall be distributed to all electors before the date of poll.

It is also clarified that if any elector uses an Elector's Photo Identity Card, which has been issued by the Electoral Registration Officer of another Assembly Constituency, such cards shall also be taken into account provided the name of that elector finds place in the electoral roll pertaining to the polling station. The possession of Elector's Photo Identity Cards or other form of identity prescribed by the Commission above will not entitle a person to exercise his/her vote, unless his/her name is found in the Electoral Roll supplied to the Polling Station.

RAJESH LAKHONI CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER & PRINCIPAL SECRETARY TO GOVERNMENT

Issued By:- DIPR, Secretariat, Chennai - 9.