P.R. No. 091 Date:16.02.2017

Public (Elections-1) Department

Press Release

As ordered by the Election Commission of India, Special Summary Revision of Electoral Rolls with reference to 01.01.2017 as qualifying date was taken up with draft publication on 01.09.2016 and the final rolls were published on 05.01.2017 in respect of 232 Assembly Constituencies in Tamil Nadu. At that time the Special Summary Revision of Electoral Rolls, 2017 was not under taken on 134.Aravakurichi and 174. Thanjavur Assembly Constituencies due to holding General Elections to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly, 2016 from these two Assembly Constituencies.

2. Now the Election Commission of India has announced the Special Summary Revision of Electoral Rolls, 2017 in respect of **134.Aravakurichi** and **174. Thanjavur Assembly Constituencies** with the following schedule:

Activities	Date
Publication of Draft Roll	20.02.2017 (Monday)
Period of filing claims and objections (15 days)	20.02.2017 to 06.03.2017
Reading of relevant part/section of photo electoral rolls in Grama Sabha / Local Bodies and RWA meetings etc. & verification of names	25.02.2017 (Saturday)
Special Campaign dates for receiving Claims and Objections	26.02.2017 (Sunday) & 05.03.2017 (Sunday)
Final publication of Rolls	16.03.2017 (Thursday)

Public of the above two Assembly Constituencies are requested to avail this opportunity to update the Electoral Rolls.

CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER TAMIL NADU.