PRESS RELEASE

HON'BLE CHIEF MINISTER AWARDS MEDALS TO 14 POLICE OFFICERS ON THE OCCASION OF THE INDEPENDENCE DAY, 2016

In recognition of the excellent work performed in criminal investigation and with a view to applaud the commitment and dedication to work, the following nine police officers have been awarded the Tamil Nadu Chief Minister's Police Medal for Excellence in Investigation on the occasion of the Independence Day, 2016:-

<u>Tvl</u>./Tmt.

- 1. S. Aravind, Additional Superintendent of Police, NIB CID OD at CB CID, Chennai.
- N. Silambarasan, Deputy Superintendent of Police, Tindivanam Sub-Division, Villupuram District.
- M. Vivekanandan, Deputy Superintendent of Police, Udumalaipet Sub-Division, Tiruppur District.
- M. Somasundaram, Deputy Superintendent of Police, Vazhapaadi Sub-Division, Salem District.
- 5. S. Sreemathy, Inspector of Police, Crime Branch CID, Tiruppur.

- 6. D. Saravanakumar, Inspector of Police, Crime Branch CID, Ramanathapuram District.
 - A. Dharmalingam, Inspector of Police, Special Branch, Virudhunagar District.
 - T. Jothi, Inspector of Police, Serious Crime Squad, Coimbatore City.
 - R. Hemalatha, Inspector of Police, AWPS Jeeyapuram, Trichy District.

Similarly, as a token of recognition of the outstanding work done and the strong commitment to keenness, zeal and selfless Public Service, the following five Police Officers have been awarded the Tamil Nadu Chief Minister's Police Medal for Excellence in Public Service, on the occasion of Independence Day, 2016:-

- i) Thiru J.K.Tripathy, IPS.,Additional Director General of Police,Law and Order, Chennai.
- ii) Thiru N.K.Senthamarai Kannan, IPS., Inspector General of Police, North Zone, Chennai.
- iii) Thiru T.Senthilkumar, IPS.,Deputy Inspector General of Police,Thanjavur Range.

iv)Thiru N.M.Mylvahanan, IPS., Superintendent of Police, Tiruvarur District.

v)Thiru S.Baskar, Deputy Superintendent of Police, Kumbakonam Sub-Division, Thanjavur District.

The recipients of the Medal are each eligible to receive a lumpsum grant of Rs.5,000/- and a gold Medal weighing eight grams.

These Medals will be presented by the Hon'ble Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu at a special function to be held in due course.

APURVA VARMA

Principal Secretary to Government, Home, Prohibition and Excise Department, Chennai-9.

Issued By: DIPR, Secretariat, Chennai-9