P.R.No:1332 Date:13.12.2021

Tamil Nadu Biodiversity Board

In a function held at Secretariat, Chennai on 13 December 2021 after the 10th meeting of the Tamil Nadu Biodiversity Board, the Hon'ble Minister of Forests who is also the Chairman of the Board, distributed Rs. 37,32,179/- to 21 Biodiversity Management Committees (BMCs) of Ramanathapuram, Toothukudi, Thanjavur and Pudukottai districts. The amount being the benefit sharing component for accessing bioresources, had been remitted by M/s Pepsi Co and Ganeshan & Sons, Sea6 Energy Pvt Lts., to the National Biodiversity Authority which in turn transferred the same to the Tamil Nadu Biodiversity Board paid.

A sum of Rs. 15,55,110/- had been transferred by the National Biodiversity Authority to the Tamil Nadu Biodiversity Board as benefit sharing component obtained from ten applicants for accessing biological resources for research purpose in accordance with Sec 21 of Biological Diversity Act 2002 read with Rule 20 of Biological Diversity Rules 2004. Out of this, an amount of 11,83,700/- Lakh was distributed by the Hon'ble Minister.

An amount of Rs. 45,60,480/- was also disbursed on the occasion to 90 block level model BMCs as the first instalment of the startup fund received from the National Biodiversity Authority for operationalising the BMCs. The amount would be spent by the BMCs for, among other things, their functioning, conducting meetings of BMC, and awareness creation.

The representatives of TNAU, The SIMA Cotton Development and Research Association in Coimbatore District, C. Abdul Hakeem College, Vellore District and Nellikuppam BMC, Cuddalore District, Poondi BMC, Tiruvallur District and Tirukalukundram BMC, Chengalpattu District were present to receive the amount. The function was attended by the Principal Secretary Environment, Climate Change and Forests, Tmt. Supriya Sahu, IAS, ACS, Animal Husbandry and Fisheries, Thiru T. S. Jawahar, IAS, Principal Secretary Rural Development & Panchayat Raj Department, Tmt P. Amudha, IAS, Principal Secretary Agriculture Department, Thiru C. Samayamoorthy, IAS, Thiru Ashok Upreti, IFS, Principal Chief Conservator of Forests (HoD), Thiru Debasis Jana, IFS, Secretary TNBB, Thiru J. Justin Mohan, IFS, National Biodiversity Authority, other members, and permanent and special invitees of the Board.

Secretary

Tamil Nadu Biodiversity Board

Issued By: - DIPR, Secretariat, Chennai - 9.