P.R. No.282 Date: 13.05.2019

PRESS RELEASE

For the upcoming Bye-Elections to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly, 2019, Election Commission of India has directed that all electors, who have been issued EPIC have to produce the Elector's Photo Identity Card for their identification at the polling station before casting their votes. Those electors who are not able to produce the EPIC shall produce one of the following alternative photo identity documents for establishing their identity:-

- (i) Passport
- (ii) Driving License
- (iii) Service Identity Cards with photograph issued to employees by Central/State Govt. PSUs/Public Limited Companies
 - (iv) Passbooks with photograph issued by Bank/Post Office
 - (v) PAN Card
 - vi) Smart Card issued by RGI under NPR
 - (vii) MNREGA Job Card
- (viii) Health Insurance Smart Card issued under the scheme of Ministry of Labour
 - (ix) Pension document with photograph
 - (x) Official identity cards to MPs/MLAs/MLCs; and
 - (xi) Aadhaar Card.
- 2. On earlier occasions, the Commission had allowed Photo Voter Slip as a document for identification. In order to make it clear to the electors that Photo Voter Slips shall not be accepted as a stand-alone identification document for voting, the words "THIS SLIP WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED FOR THE PURPOSE OF IDENTIFICATION IN POLLING STATION. YOU ARE REQUIRED TO CARRY EPIC OR ONE OF THE 11 ALTERNATIVE DOCUMENTS SPECIFIED BY THE COMMISSION FOR VOTING." shall be printed on the Photo Voter Slip in bold letters. Photo Voter Slips shall continue to be printed.
- 3. It is also clarified that if any elector uses an Elector's Photo Identity Card, which has been issued by the Electoral Registration Officer of another Assembly Constituency, such cards shall also be taken into account provided the name of that elector finds place in the electoral roll pertaining to the polling station. The possession of Elector's Photo Identity Cards or other form of identity prescribed by the Commission above will not entitle a person to exercise his/her vote, unless his/her name is found in the Electoral Roll supplied to the Polling Station.

SATYABRATA SAHOO CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER & SECRETARY TO GOVERNMENT

Issued By :- DIPR, Secretariat, Chennai - 9.