P.R. No. 198 Date: 13.03.2012

Public (Elections-III) Department

PRESS RELEASE

The Bye-election to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from 219.Sankarankovil (SC) Assembly Constituency will be held on 18.3.2012 from 8.00 a.m. to 5.00 p.m. The following restrictions will apply to publication and dissemination of results of Opinion poll / Exit poll during the above bye-election:-

- i) The Election Commission of India has stated that in exercise of the powers under sub-section (1) of Section 126A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, and having regard to the provisions of clause (b) of sub-section (2) of the said Section, the Commission hereby notifies the period between 8 A.M. and 5.30 P.M. on 18.3.2012 (Sunday), as the period during which conducting any exit poll or disseminating in any manner whatsoever, the result of any exit poll in connection with the Bye-election to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from 219.Sankarankovil (SC) Assembly Constituency would be prohibited.
- ii) It is further clarified that under Section 126(1)(b) of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, displaying any election matter including results of any opinion poll or any other poll survey, in any electronic media, would be prohibited during the period of 48 hours commencing from 5.00 P.M. on 16.3.2012, in connection with aforesaid bye-election.

CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER
TAMIL NADU

Issued By:-

DIPR, Secretariat, Chennai - 9.