P.R. No: 593 Date:12.10.2011

Public (Elections-III) Department

Press Release

Bye-elections to 140.Trichirappalli (West) Assembly Constituency is taking place on 13th October 2011. The voting will start at 08.00 A.M. and close at 5.00 P.M. There are totally 240 polling stations. The total number of the voters are 208427 - male 102924, female 105497 and others 6.

Following measures have been taken to ensure fair and free poll:-

- 5 Companies of Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) have been deployed for the Elections. These forces will be deployed both at the locations where polling stations are situated and with the Zonal Parties with minimum strength of half a section at each place. This is in addition to the forces of Tamil Nadu Special Police/Armed Reserve and Local Police being deployed for the Elections.
- ii) Live recording of the polling process would take place in all the polling stations of the Constituency from start to the end. This will be monitored continuously both at the office of the District Collector and also at the CEO's office.
- iii) Micro Observers working with Government of India will be deployed in all the 240 Polling Stations who will closely watch the polling at the polling stations.
- iv) SMS based monitoring will take place through out the day of polling to assess the status of polling going on in each polling station. Under this, the Presiding Officers will be sending pre-determined SMSs at pre-determined times indicating the progress of the poll.
- v) No polling agent would be allowed to leave the polling station after 3.00 P.M. on the polling day.

- vi) A Control Room has been set up both in the District Collector's office (Phone No. 0431 2461369 and Fax No.0431 2411929) and in CEO's office (Phone No.1950) at which any complaint can be given for immediate remedial action.
- vii) Booth slips are being given to everyone. Those who have not got the booth slips can get it from the voter facilitation centre to be set up at every polling station.
- viii) Three Observers who are senior officers from IAS, IPS and IRS, respectively, working outside the State of Tamil Nadu, have been deputed by the Election Commission of India. They will be monitoring the elections closely and would be stationed in the Constituency itself. They can also be contacted in case of any complaint. Their Phone Numbers are:
 - (a) General Observer Sh. R.K.Pathak, IAS (Phone No. 94892 73078)
 - (b) Police Observer Sh. S.Parashiva Murthy, IPS (Phone No.94887 60656)
 - (c) Expenditure Observer
 Tmt. Nivedita Biswas, IRS
 (Phone No.094891 73078)

CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER, TAMIL NADU

Issued By:-

DIPR, Information & Public Relations Dept., Secretariat, Chennai-9