P.R. No.281 Date:12.06.2014

PRESS RELEASE

For the ensuing Bye-election to TNLA from 11.Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar Assembly Constituency to be held on 27.06.2015, the Election Commission of India has directed that all electors, who have been issued EPIC have to produce the Elector's Photo Identity Card for their identification at the polling station before casting their votes. Those electors who are not able to produce the EPIC and those electors who are not able to establish their identity on account of mismatch of the photograph, etc. shall produce one of the following alternative photo identity documents for establishing their identity:-

- (i) Passport
- (ii) Driving License
- (iii) Service Identity Cards with photograph issued to employees by Central/State Govt. PSUs/Public Limited Companies
- (iv) Passbooks with photograph issued by Bank/Post Office
- (v) PAN Card
- (vi) Aadhar Card
- (vii) Smart Card issued by RGI under NPR
- (viii) MNREGA Job Card
- (ix) Health Insurance Smart Card issued under the scheme of Ministry of Labour
- (x) Pension document with photograph;
- (xi) Authenticated Photo Voter Slip issued by the election machinery; and
- (xii) Official identity cards issued to MPs/MLAs/MLCs.

The Commission has also directed that Authenticated Photo Voter Slips shall be distributed to all electors a few days before the poll day. It is also clarified that if any elector uses an Elector's Photo Identity Card, which has been issued by the Electoral Registration Officer of another Assembly Constituency, such cards shall also be taken into account provided the name of that elector finds place in the electoral roll pertaining to the polling station.

Sandeep Saxena Chief Electoral Officer & Principals Secretary to Government

Issued By: DIPR, Secretariat, Chennai 9