# Date:11.06.2015

# **PUBLIC (ELECTIONS-III) DEPARTMENT**

#### PRESS RELEASE

The poll for the bye-election to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from 11.Dr.Radhakrishnan Nagar Assembly Constituency will be held on 27.06.2015 from 8.00 A.M. to 5.00 P.M. The following restrictions will apply to publication and dissemination of results of Opinion poll / Exit poll during the above bye-election:-

- i) The Election Commission of India has stated that in exercise of the powers under sub-section (1) of Section 126A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, the Election Commission, having regard to the provisions of sub-Section (2) (b) of the said Section, hereby notifies the period between 7.00 A.M. and 5.30 P.M. on 27.06.2015 (Saturday), as the period during which conducting any exit poll and or publicizing by means of the print or electronic media or dissemination in any other manner, whatsoever, the result of any exit poll in connection with the Bye-Election to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from 11.Dr.Radhakrishnan Nagar Assembly Constituency, shall be prohibited.
- The Election Commission of India has further clarified that under ii) Section 126(1)(b) of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, displaying any election matter including results of any opinion poll or any other poll survey, in any electronic media, would be prohibited during the period of 48 hours ending with the hour fixed for conclusion of connection with the poll in from **Bye-election** to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly 11.Dr.Radhakrishnan Nagar Assembly Constituency.

# CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER TAMIL NADU

# Issued By: DIPR, Secretariat, Chennai 9