PRESS RELEASE NO.214

PUBLIC (ELECTIONS.III) DEPARTMENT

Dated: 11.04.2007

PRESS RELEASE

The draft proposals of the Delimitation Commission of India for the delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies in Tamil Nadu have been published in the State Government Gazette of 5-4-2007. The Commission has indicated that representations on the suggestions / objections from the public / political parties should be addressed only to the Secretary, Delimitation Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-1 and sent to the Delimitation Commission of India on or before 18-4-2007. Copies of Government Gazette extraordinary are available in the sales depot at Directorate of Stationary and Printing, Anna Salai, Chennai-2 on payment of Rs.84/- per copy.

2. The Commission has indicated that the Commission shall hear in the public sittings those persons who have already submitted their written suggestions / objections in response to the Commission's draft delimitation proposals before the specified date mentioned in the public notice, i.e., 18-4-2007. The Commission has further indicated that subject to availability of time, the MPs / MLAs and other representatives of the public who have not given written submissions and the other members of the public will be heard at the discretion of the Commission. The public sittings are scheduled to be held as follows:-

Date and time of public hearing	Place and Venue	Assembly Constituencies and respective Parliamentary Constituencies regarding which the proposals will be heard on the respective dates.
17.05.2007 at 10.00 A.M. (1st Session) At 2.30 P.M. (2nd Session)	Corporation Kalaiyarangam, R.S.Puram, Coimbatore	Salem, Namakkal, Dharmapuri and Krishnagiri Districts The Nilgiris, Erode, Karur and Coimbatore Districts
19.05.2007 At 10.00 A.M. (1 st Session) At 2.30 P.M. (2 nd Session)	Silver Jubilee Auditorium, Madurai Medical College Campus, Madurai	Sivaganga, Ramanathapuram, Theni, Dindigul and Madurai Districts Kanniyakumari, Tirunelveli, Thoothukudi and Virudhunagar Districts.
20.05.2007 At 2.00 P.M. (2 nd Session)	No.74, Rathinavel Thevar Hall and Commercial Complex, West Buleward Road, Tiruchirappalli-8	Thanjavur, Thiruvarur, Nagapattinam and Tiruchirappalli Districts
21.05.2007 At 10.00 A.M. (1st Session)	No.74, Rathinavel Thevar Hall and Commercial Complex, West Buleward Road, Tiruchirappalli-8	Pudukkottai and Perambalur Districts
22.05.2007 At 10.00 A.M. (1st Session) At 2.30 P.M. (2nd Session)	University Centenary Auditorium, University of Madras, Chennai-5	Vellore, Thiruvannamalai, Cuddalore and Villupuram Districts. Kancheepuram, Thiruvallur and Chennai Districts.

Chief Electoral Officer.