**P.R.** No. 665 Date:08.12.2013

## Public (Elections-III) Department

## PRESS RELEASE

The counting of votes for the Bye-election to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from 83.Yercaud (ST) Assembly Constituency was taken up today (8.12.2013) at CSI Polytechnic at Hasthampatti, Salem. After the counting of votes, the Returning Officer for 83.Yercaud (ST) Assembly Constituency has declared that Tmt. P. Saroja (AIADMK) was elected. Details of result of the counting is as follows:-

Total votes polled on EVM : 2,14,397

Total Postal Ballot : 9

Total votes polled : 2,14,406

Invalid Vote : 1

Total valid votes : 2,14,405

Top Two Candidates:-

Tmt. P. Saroja (AIADMK) : 1,42,771

Thiru. V. Maran (DMK) : 64,655

Further, 4431 electors have exercised the option "None of the Above (NOTA)" in the above bye-election. The candidate-wise / round-wise details is hosted at www.elections.tn.gov.in. Polling station-wise Form 20 details of votes polled by each candidate would be hosted on the website in a few days time.

CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER
TAMIL NADU

Issued By:-

DIPR, Secretariat, Chennai - 9.