FORM 1

Notice of Election

(See rule 3 of the Conduct of Election Rules, 1961)

Election to the Council of States

(To fill the vacancies of six Members who will retire on 2.4.2008 on the expiration of their term of office)

Notice is hereby given that--

- (1) an election is to be held of 6 Members to the Council of States by the (elected) Members of the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly;
- (2) nomination papers may be delivered by a candidate or by any of his proposers to Thiru M. Selvaraj, Returning Officer and Secretary, Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly or to Thiru T.Govindaraju, Assistant Returning Officer and Deputy Secretary, Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly Secretariat at Legislative Assembly Secretariat, Chennai 600 009 between 11.00 a.m. and 3.00 p.m. on any day (other than a public holiday) not later than the 15th March 2008.
- (3) forms of nomination paper may be obtained at the place and time aforesaid;
- (4) the nomination papers will be taken up for scrutiny at the office of the Secretary, Legislative Assembly Secretariat, Chennai 600 009 at 11.00 a.m. on 17th March 2008.
- (5) notice of withdrawal of candidature may be delivered either by a candidate or by any of his proposers or by his election agent who has been authorised in writing by the candidate to deliver it to either of the officers specified in paragraph (2) above at his office before 3.00 p.m. on 19th March 2008.
- (6) in the event of the election being contested, the poll will be taken on 26th March 2008 between the hours of 9.00 a.m. and 4.00 p.m.

Place: Chennai 600 009 (M. SELVARAJ)

Date: 8.3.2008 Returning Officer & Secretary

Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY SECRETARIAT

PRESS RELEASE

Nominations for the Biennial Elections to the Council of States will be

received between 11.00 a.m. and 3.00 p.m. on Saturday, the 15th March,

2008 also by the Returning Officer or the Assistant Returning Officer, though it

is a Government Holiday.

Chennai - 600 009

Dated: 8.3.2008

M. SELVARAJ **RETURNING OFFICER AND** SECRETARY,

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY SECRETARIAT