P.R. No.663 Date:07.12.2013

Public (Elections-III) Department

PRESS RELEASE

The counting of votes for the Bye-election to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from 83.Yercaud (ST) Assembly Constituency will commence from 8.00 a.m. on 8.12.2013 (Sunday) at the counting centre which is under three tier security and located in CSI Polytechnic at Hasthampatti, Salem. As per the directions of the Election Commission of India, the following arrangements are made in the counting centre:-

- ❖ Before allowing the entry of the candidates, their agents and other officials whose identities have been established by means of identity card to the second cordon, proper frisking would be done by the security personnel.
- ❖ Nobody would be permitted to bring sharp objects, bottles, tins, containers, tiffin boxes, umbrellas, matches, wires, lighters, liquids / chemicals, eatables, etc. inside the counting hall.
- ❖ Only the Observer, Returning Officer, candidate or his/her agent would be allowed to bring mobile phones inside the outer cordon. Counting Agents, Counting Supervisors, Counting Assistants, etc., would not be allowed to bring the mobile phones, inside the outer cordon and so should be asked beforehand not to carry mobile phones. Inside the counting hall, only the Observer would be allowed to have a mobile phone.
- ❖ Media persons would be permitted to carry mobile phones upto Media Centre in counting location and use it inside Media Centre. Mobile phones should not be carried or used outside the Media Centre. When they leave the media centre, they should leave the phones in the media centre.

2

Only those counting agents holding photo identity cards issued by the Returning Officer would be allowed inside the counting hall.

❖ Counting would be done in 14 Tables. Entire counting process would be videographed.

❖ Postal votes counting would be taken up first in Returning Officer's

table and after a gap of 30 minutes, the EVM counting would start.

❖ After completion of each round of counting, candidate-wise votes

secured would be tallied and displayed before commencement of next

round of counting.

CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER
TAMIL NADU

Issued By:- DIPR, Secretariat, Chennai - 9.