## PUBLIC (ELECTIONS.III) DEPARTMENT

## PRESS RELEASE

The Delimitation Commission of India after discussions with the Associate Members of the Tamil Nadu State has published its proposals for the Delimitation of Assembly and Parliamentary Constituencies in the State of Tamil Nadu, on the basis of the Census, 2001. The above proposals have been published in an Extraordinary Issue of the Government Gazette both by the Central and State Governments on 5.4.2007. Copies of the Gazette published are available for inspection at the office of the respective District Election Officer/ Chief Electoral Officer, Tamil Nadu.

2. The Delimitation Commission has invited suggestions and objections on the proposals of the Delimitation Commission from the general public and such suggestions and objections should reach the Secretary, Delimitation Commission, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi - 110 001 on or before 17.00 hours on **18th April 2007.** Such suggestions and objections will be considered by the Delimitation Commission in the public sittings proposed to be

## conducted by the Delimitation Commission as per the following schedule:-

Date and time of public hearing	Place and Venue	Assembly Constituencies and respective Parliamentary Constituencies regarding which the proposals will be heard on the respective dates.
17.05.2007 at 10.00 A.M. (1st Session) At 2.30 P.M. (2nd Session)	Corporation Kalaiyarangam, R.S.Puram, Coimbatore	Salem, Namakkal, Dharmapuri and Krishnagiri Districts  The Nilgiris, Erode, Karur and Coimbatore Districts
19.05.2007 At 10.00 A.M. (1st Session) At 2.30 P.M. (2nd Session)	Silver Jubilee Auditorium, Madurai Medical College Campus, Madurai	Sivaganga, Ramanathapuram, Theni, Dindigul and Madurai Districts  Kanniyakumari, Tirunelveli, Thoothukudi and Virudhunagar Districts.
20.05.2007 At 2.00 P.M. (2 <sup>nd</sup> Session)	No.74, Rathinavel Thevar Hall and Commercial Complex, West Buleward Road, Tiruchirappalli-8	Thanjavur, Thiruvarur, Nagapattinam and Tiruchirappalli Districts
21.05.2007 At 10.00 A.M. (1st Session)	No.74, Rathinavel Thevar Hall and Commercial Complex, West Buleward Road, Tiruchirappalli-8	Pudukkottai and Perambalur Districts
22.05.2007 At 10.00 A.M. (1st Session) At 2.30 P.M. (2nd Session)	University Centenary Auditorium, University of Madras, Chennai-5	Vellore, Thiruvannamalai, Cuddalore and Villupuram Districts. Kancheepuram, Thiruvallur and Chennai Districts.

Chief Electoral Officer.

Issued By:

DIPR, Chennai-9.