PUBLIC (ELECTIONS.I) DEPARTMENT

PRESS RELEASE

As per the directions of the Election Commission of India the Special

Summary Revision, 2019 is now underway. The draft rolls were published on

01.09.2018 and the claims of objections were received from 01.09.2018 to

31.10.2018.

2. As per the earlier schedule, the Election Commission of India had

prescribed that the final rolls should be published on 04.01.2019. The District

Election officers of cyclone hit districts have requested some more time for

completing the revision activities. Other District Election Officers have also

requested more time to complete the revision activities. Based on the

requests, the Election Commission of India has now agreed for extension and

for publication of the final rolls on 21.10.2019. Except in 168.Thiruvarur

Assembly Constituency for which bye-election has been announced, the final

rolls will be published in all the other Assembly Constituencies on

21.01.2019.

CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER TAMIL NADU

Issued By :- DIPR, Secretariat, Chennai - 9.