

ABSTRACT

The Waqf Act, 1995 – Reconstitution of Tamil Nadu Waqf Board – Appointment of persons as members of Tamil Nadu Waqf Board under the category of elected categories – Orders – Issued.

Backward Classes, Most Backward Classes and Minorities Welfare (T1) Department

G.O. (2D) No.24

Dated:10.10.2017

திருவள்ளுவா் ஆண்டு – 2048 ஹேவிளம்பி – புரட்டாசி 24 Read :

- 1. G.O. (2D) No.18, Backward Classes, Most Backward Classes and Minorities Welfare (T1) Department, dated 15.06.2012.
- 2. G.O. (2D) No.23, Backward Classes, Most Backward Classes and Minorities Welfare (T1) Department, dated 14.09.2017.

ORDER:

In the Government Order 1st read above, orders were issued and notified the appointment of members of Tamil Nadu Waqf Board under various categories as per section 14 of the Waqf Act, 1995 and reconstituted the Tamil Nadu Waqf Board. The term of office of the said members of Tamil Nadu Waqf Board was expired on 14.06.2017. The State Government have therefore decided to reconstitute the Tamil Nadu Waqf Board afresh.

2. In the Government Order 2nd read above, orders were issued and notified the appointment of following persons as members of Tamil Nadu Waqf Board in the nominated categories, namely:-

SI. No.	Name
1.	Thiru A. Sirajudeen, Senior Muslim Advocate
2.	Thiru M. Ajmal Khan, Senior Muslim Advocate
3.	Thiru A.Tamilmahan Hussain, Person having Professional experience
4.	Tmt. Amatul Aatifa, Scholar in Shia Islamic Theology
5.	Tmt. A.S. Fathima Muzaffer, Scholar in Sunni Islamic Theology
6.	Thiru Md. Nasimuddin, I.A.S., Officer of the State Government

3. It has also been ordered therein that the vacancies in the categories of Members of Parliament, Members of State Legislature and Mutawallis will be filled up by notifying and conducting the election as per sub-section (2) of Section 14 of the Waqf Act, 1995 (Central Act 43 of 1995).

4. As regards conduct of election to the elected categories viz., Muslim members of Parliament, Muslim Members of the State Legislature and Mutawallis, the electoral rolls have been obtained and published. Thiru A. Anwar Raajhaa, is only one candidate available in the electoral college of Muslim members of Parliament. The proviso to sub-section (2) of Section 14 of the Waqf Act, 1995 (Central Act 43 of 1995), states that provided that where the number of Muslim Members of Parliament, the State Legislature or the State Bar Council, as the case may be, is only one, such Muslim member shall be declared to have been elected on the Board. Hence Thiru A. Anwhar Raajhaa who is the only one candidate available under the category of Muslim Members of Parliament from the State have been declared elected under the category of Member of Parliament.

5. As regards for election to the electoral college consisting of Muslim Members of State Legislature, Thiru K.A.M. Muhammed Abubacker, M.L.A. and Thiru K.S. Masthan, M.L.A. have filed their nominations. Since the number of candidates who were filed nomination is equal to the number of vacancies (two) to be filled, there is no need for conducting election. Hence, the Election Authority has declared the following candidates to have been duly elected as per rule 9(6) of the Tamil Nadu Waqf Board (Conduct of Election for Members) Rules, 1997:-

Muslim Member of State Legislature:

- 1. Thiru K.A.M. Muhammed Abubacker,
- 2. Thiru K.S. Masthan,

6. As regards for election to the electoral college consisting of Mutawallis, the election was held on 04.10.2017 by secret ballot as per the procedure prescribed and counting of votes was completed on 05.10.2017. Under Rule 20 of the Tamil Nadu Waqf Board (Conduct of Election for Members) Rules, 1997, the Returning Officer has declared the following as elected members and also given certificates of election under Rule 21 of the said rules:-

MUTAWALLIS

- 1. Dr. Haja K. Majeed
- 2. Thiru. Syed Ali Akbar

2

7. The term of office for members of the Board shall be for a period of five years from the date of issue of Notification.

8. The Chief Executive Officer, Tamil Nadu Waqf Board, Chennai -1 is requested to take necessary action to convene the first meeting of the Board for electing the Chairperson under Section 14(8) of the Waqf Act, 1995 (Central Act 43 of 1995).

9. The Notification appended to this order will be published in an Extraordinary issue of the Tamil Nadu Government Gazette dated 10th October, 2017.

(BY ORDER OF THE GOVERNOR)

A. KARTHIK SECRETARY TO GOVERNMENT

To

The Chief Executive Officer, Tamil Nadu Waqf Board, Chennai -1. The Members concerned (Thro the Chief Executive Officer, Tamil Nadu Waqf Board, Chennai – 1) The Works Manager, Government Central Press, Chennai – 79. (with a request to publish the notification in the Tamil Nadu Government Gazette Extra-ordinary, dated 10.10.2017 and send 200 copies to Government and 100 copies to Tamil Nadu Waqf Board).

Copy to

The Secretary – III to Hon'ble Chief Minister, Chennai -9. The Secretary and Executive Officer, Tamil Nadu State Hajj Committee, Chennai – 34. The Law Department, Chennai – 9. The Finance Department, Chennai -9. The Special Personal Assistant to Hon'ble Minister for Labour & Waqf, Chennai -9. The Chief Minister's Office, Chennai – 9. The Backward Classes, Most Backward Classes and Minorities Welfare (OP/S) Department, Chennai – 9. Stock file / Spare copies

// FORWARDED BY ORDER //

h. Abdul mult

APPENDIX.

NOTIFICATION.

Under sub-clauses (i), (ii) and (iv) of clause (b) of sub-section (1) and sub-section (9) of Section 14 of the Waqf Act, 1995 (Central Act 43 of 1995), the Governor of Tamil Nadu hereby appoints the following persons as Members of the Tamil Nadu Waqf Board, namely:-

MUSLIM MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT

1. Thiru A. Anwhar Raajhaa, M.P.

MUSLIM MEMBERS OF STATE LEGISLATURE

1. Thiru K.A.M. Muhammed Abubacker, M.L.A.

2. Thiru K.S. Masthan, M.L.A.

MUTAWALLIS

- 1. Dr. Haja K. Majeed
- 2. Thiru. Syed Ali Akbar

A. KARTHIK SECRETARY TO GOVERNMENT

// True Copy //

h. Abdul multin Section Officer